Roland FC-300 MIDI bindings

Talk about your MIDI bindings and controller setup

Moderator: jesse

Viennaloop

Roland FC-300 MIDI bindings

Post by Viennaloop »

Hello, all...

I play an usually-acoustic, classical instrument, and I'm very new to software looping and MIDI, as well as to Mac OS. And I often do things in the wrong order. One of the first pieces of equipment that I bought was a Roland FC-300, which I would like to control my effects unit (Eventide Eclipse) and a looping program simultaneously. I got it based purely on the number of pedals, perceived flexibility and build quality -- these reasons may sound idiotic, but I needed a quick switching solution for the Eventide for a gig, so I just went for it.

While the Roland's "Standard Mode" program change messages work just fine on the Eventide, both Ableton Live and Sooperlooper (the two loop- capable programs I've tried so far) react strangely. Live only understands "pitchbend" for every program change message, and SL seems to understand "CC 0" no matter what number pedal I press. I'm not very MIDI-literate yet (having difficulty finding simple, beginner's explanations of how MIDI works as a language for controlling things, triggering events ... any suggestions?), and I'm not sure why both Live and SL would understand different kinds of messages from the same pedals used in the same mode ("Standard"), neither of which are the kind this mode is actually supposed to send, as far as I understand (which I may not at all *lol*).

I suspect I'm using the wrong mode (I've read that Live only listens to CC-mode messages from the Roland, not sure about SL).

Would the best solution be to use patch mode and define each patch command from scratch, so I can be sure what's being sent? Or is there a simpler recipe for this?

Is there anyone here who uses the Roland FC-300? -- or better yet, anyone who uses it to control multiple things at once? (such as an effects unit and SL?)

Any input would be much appreciated!