Clicks with some loops, no matter the xfade amount

Problems getting SL up and running on a Mac? Post here.

Moderator: jesse

Knorm

Clicks with some loops, no matter the xfade amount

Post by Knorm »

Hello and thanks for reading this.

I'm still sometimes getting clicks between loops "caused by waveform discontinuities" (as the Command Reference puts it,) and this no matter how high I set the xfade amount. I found a few posts about this here but no resolution (except some posts with scripts but I have no idea how to implement that or if it's even related.)

Any ideas or hints?

Thanks.
jesse

Re: Clicks with some loops, no matter the xfade amount

Post by jesse »

Can you describe how you are creating the loops (steps of recording and other commands)?
Knorm

Post by Knorm »

Hey Jesse, thanks for your reply. And for your amazing software, of course.

Not sure how much detail to give so this might be too much.

I've been using SooperLooper for about 10 years via within Mainstage, not sure why this started happening. Though it doesn't always. Had a hard time making it happen last night while testing things out.

I trigger SooperLooper with an FCB1010 via MidiPatchbay. I have five pedals set as: previous loop, next loop, record/overdub selected, undo selected (as a note so I can hold it down) and redo selected. Top row is virtual guitar pedals. Sometimes with SL setting the tempo, sometimes Mainstage setting the tempo, but the clicks happen with either situation. Last night I started with playing a simple beat on Ultrabeat with a midi keyboard (an Edirol PCR-500) as the first loop, which set the tempo. Then on a second loop, I played a synth pad chord that overlaps the loop start, and even though I had xfade set at 64, there was click where the loop restarts.

Not sure what else you need to know, please ask away! And thanks again!
jesse

Post by jesse »