[FIXED] select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Problems getting SL up and running on Linux? Post here.

Moderator: jesse

Post Reply
kokoko3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:23 am

[FIXED] select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kokoko3k »

Hi and thanks for developing this nice piece of software.

Seems that is not possible to use an hotkey to control those functions.
I've usb pedals that sends keystrokes, they're not midi, so i'm really missing that function.
By now i managed to workaround the issue by using midisend and xbindkeys (midi binding works), but is not that handy.

I just cloned the latest git, but the bug is still there :(
Last edited by kokoko3k on Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:07 am, edited 2 times in total.
kasbah
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:01 pm

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kasbah »

I just gave it a quick test and was able to bind select_next_loop and select_prev_loop to 'n' and 'p' respectively. What is the keybinding exactly that you are trying to make and in what way is it not working?
kokoko3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:23 am

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kokoko3k »

I just tried with n and p, but nothing happens.
hitting 1,2,3... correctly selects the loops.

I don't know if this is an issue with the gui or with the engine.
Commands like:

Code: Select all

oscsend localhost 9951 /sl/-2/set sf tap_tempo 1
oscsend localhost 9951 /sl/-1/hit s solo_next
oscsend localhost 9951 /sl/-2/set si "selected_loop_num" 2
do work.

But this:

Code: Select all

oscsend localhost 9951 /sl/-2/set si "select_next_loop" 1
just doesn't do anything.

my libs:
liblo 0.26
gtk2 2.24.14
kasbah
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:01 pm

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kasbah »

Those OSC commands should work. You do have several loop instances right?

You could try and mv ~/.sooperlooper to ~/.sooperlooper.backup to reset all settings.

Have you tried oscdump to make sure your commands are being sent?

If non of that works could you grab the "fix_select_next" branch from github and build that and post the terminal output when you try and do select_loop_next/prev?

In your existing git repo do:

Code: Select all

git checkout -b fix_select_next origin/fix_select_next
kokoko3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:23 am

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kokoko3k »

kasbah wrote:Those OSC commands should work. You do have several loop instances right?
You could try and mv ~/.sooperlooper to ~/.sooperlooper.backup to reset all settings.
Have you tried oscdump to make sure your commands are being sent?
If non of that works could you grab the "fix_select_next" branch from github and build that and post the terminal output when you try and do select_loop_next/prev?
In your existing git repo do:

Code: Select all

git checkout -b fix_select_next origin/fix_select_next
So:
-i have several loops
-i'll try to reset settings
-As i wrote, some osc commands do work, so probably that's not the root of my issue, but i don't know how to use oscdump, do i need to run some sort of server? could you please give me an hint?

Tomorrow I'll try to clear the settings and eventually the new branch, thanks for looking into this!
kasbah
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:01 pm

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kasbah »

but i don't know how to use oscdump, do i need to run some sort of server? could you please give me an hint?
You just do

Code: Select all

oscdump 9951
while SL isn't running and run the oscsend command again. If oscdump receives it it will print it. But you are right, it is a long shot that something is going wrong there...
kokoko3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:23 am

Re: select_loop_next (prev) keybinding doesn't work

Post by kokoko3k »

I was sure i tried the git version and spotted the problem there too, but i was wrong or my xml setting was somehow corrupted.
Actually, seems that git (1.7.0, and of course your branch) correctly selects next/prev loops, where 1.6.x does nothing.

Sorry for loss of time and thanks again.
Post Reply