Comparing SooperLooper and a Boss RC-50 SL Missing features

Describe your looping workflow

Moderator: jesse

wirelessdreamer

Comparing SooperLooper and a Boss RC-50 SL Missing features

Post by wirelessdreamer »

For background: I started with a GNX4 (multifx with builtin looper), but it was limited, and I really wanted to be able to toggle tracks on and off with stomp boxes/midi, for layering, the gnx4 was sequential, unless you leaned down and pressed little buttons with your hands

First I tried sooperlooper, using a Roland FC-300 to control it, but when I was done playing with one idea and wanted to go onto the next, I had no command to send a stop to all loops, and then start playing sync'd to a different temp based on a new primary loop.

I've been using a Boss RC-50 for the past 2 months, and these are what I think sooper looper is missing, that keeps it from being as good as the RC-50

Missing: Stop all Loops, Start all Loops, Save session (track settings and audio data), Load session (track settings and audio data), clear session (keep the number of tracks, and type(stereo/mono) wipe tempo and audio data then restart tracks at their beginning)

With those features implemented I could use sooperlooper as easily as my RC-50, without them though sooperlooper is too painful for me to personally use in a productive manner

This one Is just fun, and would be nice to see.

Single mode:
each loop is a separate recording that isn't layered you can switch between loops for different parts of a song (think verse, chourus, bridge)

start recording on one, you can layer that one, or switch to a new one, at which time it starts recording, then that loop can be stopped and layered, and you can switch (which starts the loops from the start)
nodonnel

Re: Comparing SooperLooper and a Boss RC-50 SL Missing features

Post by nodonnel »

*Preface* I'm using sooperlooper for (puredyne) linux, v.1.6.14

Hi wirelessdreamer,