OSC for non-programmers?

Discuss using the OSC interface to control SL

Moderator: jesse

hardbop200

OSC for non-programmers?

Post by hardbop200 »

Hi all!

I'm wanting to use Sooperlooper on Linux as a drum machine for practicing, loading a preset bunch of drum loops and fills and switching between them using my Android phone + some OSC control app (TouchOSC, etc.). While I am familiar with Linux and don't mind getting my hands dirty, I am not a programmer. Can someone point me to a tutorial for OSC newbies on getting this going? If someone has some predefined scenes for one of the OSC apps, that would be awesome as well :)

Note: I've been reading the doc on OSC commands, I just need a little help knowing how to use them.

Thanks!

Josh
JeffHendricks

Re: OSC for non-programmers?

Post by JeffHendricks »

I've been chewing on the idea of doing the same thing, but I have had ZERO success in figuring this out. Apparently, TouchOSC supports custom configs on Android now, so I'm trying to give it a shot. However, the little amount of information on how to actually *use* the OSC commands and such is ridiculously hard to understand.

Also, I've had no success getting TouchOSC to even connect to SL, much less send it commands. I am banging my head against the wall on this... why doesn't it just work?

:x

I could manage if there were an OSC to MIDI bridge program for Linux, but no...
JeffHendricks

Post by JeffHendricks »

Update: I did manage to get TouchOSC talking with my laptop, I could see messages being sent and recieved with oscdump, but no luck with SooperLooper. I know it adds an integer to the message, even if you specify a string. I wonder if that's changeable with the TouchOSC layout editor? Maybe we could modify the layout's file directly to prevent that??

Undaunted, I press on.. :?

UPDATE: TouchOSC uses a non-standard layout file format... at least, you can't open it in a text editor.