Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Discuss future feature requests. All ideas welcome.

Moderator: jesse

Post Reply
danoken
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:18 pm

Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by danoken »

Hi Jesse,

Sooperlooper is a wonderful program. I've been using it a few short weeks, but I'm finding it incredibly useful (and it gives me an excuse to haul out my 20 y/o Rockman Midi pedal to control it).

So, here's my request. I'd like to be able to control the tempo of a loop, in real time, by clicking a button (or buttons) on my midi pedal. This would be similar to tap tempo, but instead, it would change the speed of the loop incrementally, maybe up or down by .01 each time I press one of two buttons assigned on the midi pedal. Having this feature would be incredibly helpful for live performances with a band, so I can speed up or slow down a loop (w/out affecting pitch) to match the tempo of the other players.

As-is, after a while, the time tends to drift, and there's no way to correct it easily while continuing to play along with the band.

Thanks again for developing SooperLooper!

Ken

jesse
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:46 am
Contact:

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by jesse »

A tempo increment/decrement command is a good feature request, I just put it on the list.

One way to correct while playing with a band is to occasionally retrigger the loop manually (or pedually), but it takes some practice to get it right on. The other way is to crank it up and make the damn band follow your loop! :)

danoken
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:18 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by danoken »

Thanks, Jesse. That would be an great addition to a great program!

I'll try that retrigger trick to see if it helps keep everybody on keep time with the loop (or loops). Believe me, we've tried a bunch of things to keep everyone in sync w/loops. I even recorded my looped parts in real-time using a visual metronome on an iPhone, but at some point, with two or three loops going, the bass player and drummer speed up/slow down just enough to make things get pretty ugly, fast. (Of course, my loops are perfect every time, so it's never my fault. :D )

Ken

jojaku
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:47 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by jojaku »

hey jesse did you ever do anything about this request? i think it's an amazing idea, and it could definitely help me in my current band, which is an all improv band...:)

jesse
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:46 am
Contact:

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by jesse »

Sadly no, 7 years later and it never got done :(

dtrmbullet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by dtrmbullet »

Happy to see you still replying to the forum Jesse. Your software rules so hard...SOOOO much better then Ableton loop functionality. Love it. Just got a new ACPAD and having fun with new midi binding combinations. Hope you are still tinkering!

I'm Sure you hear it all the time, but would love to see a new version. Maybe a Kickstarter, IndigoGo, or other crowed funding platform. I would 100% contribute monetarily and also with content if desired/useful (posting screen flow videos and other demos using the software with my live loop set up).

If you wanted to put out a new call for feature requests I bet you would get some great feedback. You have a lot of people using your software already and I foresee this number growing exponentially if you came back today, looping is all the rage and your sooperlooper is still leading the pack.

Cheers

Weforgot...
(Scott)

Soizic
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Control time stretch incrementally w/midi bindings

Post by Soizic »

Hello Jesse !

The ability to speed up or speed down the loops would represent for me the ultimate feature for SL !!!
SL would be the perfect and best looper with this (well... actually it already is the perfect looper but il would be even better ;) )

I've been using SL for almost 15 years I think, hundred of gigs!
I'm a guitarist and here's how I proceed for every song : I always record a "beat loop" playing percussion on my guitar and this becomes the "master reference loop" for all the others (sync is set to "loop1")

But quite often I don't manage to get the right tempo when I record this main loop... and I get stuck in a "too low" or "too quick" tempo for the rest of the song (unless I decide to stop, erase the loop and record it again, but it's not very cool when you're facing the audience :oops: )

For example, think about recording a beat for "Highway to hell". But once the beat loop is recorded and you begin to play the guitar riff, you realize that it's a bit too slow :(

It's a real and concrete situation that happens several times at every gig. So I would love to have the ability to speed up or down the tempo by incremented BPM.

Maybe there is a way to do this with the actual features of SL with the "stretch" feature ?
I just need to speed up or down (max 10 bpm) my first loop that is always a percussion loop.

Thanks for your answer !

Post Reply