SL stopped working

Problems getting SL up and running on a Mac? Post here.

Moderator: jesse

Post Reply
gtrman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:14 am

SL stopped working

Post by gtrman »

Hi Folks
I was running SL succesfully as an AU in Logic8...suddenly it does not respond.
Mouse clicks on record button turn it blue to green (not red) and doesn't record.
Mouse clicks on multiplier buttons (1x, 2x ) work but nowhere else.
Can change key bindings and SL sees midi but won't record with those input methods either.

Reinstalled SL a couple of times. Restarted, shut down, junked prefs, repaired permissions.
Stumped.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Nick

jesse
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:46 am
Contact:

Re: SL stopped working

Post by jesse »

You can't think of anything that might have changed in your setup just before it stopped working?
Could Logic be bypassing the plugin? That behavior is consistent with the host not actually executing the audio process callbacks in the plugin.

This is pretty strange indeed. Can you try it in another host application just to see (garageband, AULab, etc)? You could also try running it "standalone" with JACK, just to narrow down the possibilities.

gtrman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:14 am

Re: SL stopped working

Post by gtrman »

Thanks for the swift reply - I've just had an hour to look at this..
SL is working fine standalone through Jack.
No response as AU in Logic or Garageband though.
All I can think I did that might have a bearing is changed name/deleted an account on the mac?
(I am using SL in different accounts with differing login settings.)
Thanks again
Nick

menderchuck
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:23 am

Re: SL stopped working

Post by menderchuck »

Hi, I just started using SL and it's fantastic! Thanks for your work, Jesse.
But I'm seeing the exact same problem. After successfully using SL in Logic,
I saved the project, and then upon re-opening the project, SL stopped working
in exactly the same way as described by Nick. However, it also doesn't work
standalone either. One additional data point is a flurry of these messages in
the console on startup:

9/3/09 10:14:01 AM [0x0-0x4e04e].net.essej.slgui JackAudioDriver::ProcessAsync Process error

Also, I was testing out OSC control using Osculator the last time it was working, but have since
reset the OSC related preferences to their defaults. Perhaps, that provides a clue as well.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Post Reply