Loop Middle of Multiplied Phrase?

Describe your looping workflow

Moderator: jesse

kipjones

Loop Middle of Multiplied Phrase?

Post by kipjones »

Hello!

I am just getting into SooperLooper. What a fantastic piece of software! I already feel my musical imagination challenged by the breadth of possibility.

Among other techniques I'm practicing, I'd like to learn how to capture a middle cycle of an already-multiplied loop. In the documentation for SL and for the Echoplex, it seems this happens by issuing the command [multiply] before the beginning of the first and the end of the last cycle one desires to capture. (Incl. screenshot of Echoplex manual below) I'm on AVLinux 5.0.3, and each time I try this (with quantize=loop), I find the result ALWAYS contains the first cycle, whether or not I want to include it.

If what I'm trying to do is possible, how should I proceed?

Cheers,
Kip
Attachments
LoopTheMiddle.jpg
LoopTheMiddle.jpg (22.65 KiB) Viewed 28944 times
kasbah

Re: Loop Middle of Multiplied Phrase?

Post by kasbah »

Hmm, I am not sure, maybe this is one of the points where the SL implementation differs from the Echoplex. I will do some testing when I get a chance. Have you tried out what happens when you set quantize to cycle or off?
kipjones

Post by kipjones »

No matter what I set the quantize to, my shortened (already multiplied) loop begins with the first cycle regardless of which cycle I select. With the rounding off and quantize=loop, however, audio from the selected cycle (say, cycle 7) began popping in about halfway through the first cycle, which leads me to suspect a bug rather than a difference of implementation. I'm on 1.6.14, so I'll try and update to 1.6.18 and take it from there.
kipjones

Post by kipjones »